Departmental Activities

Six M.Sc./22 students: Soumik Bhoumik, Paritosh Shukla, Abhishek Verma, Ajay Kumawat, Shalini Bhattachrjee and Ajay Kumar Rundla and Ms. Kanika Aggarwal, Assistant Professor from Physics Department participated and presented posters in Two Day Workshop on Global Women’s Brealfast-2024 (an IUPAC initiative), organized by Department of Chemistry, S.L.I.E.T. Longowal on February 21-22, 2024.

Abhishek Verma M.Sc.-22 student of Physics Department got the second prize for his poster on the theme, “Quantum Computing: An Introduction” presented under Poster Session-II: M.Sc. and M.Tech. students (Cluster V) in Two Day Workshop on Global Women’s Brealfast-2024 (an IUPAC initiative), organized by Department of Chemistry, S.L.I.E.T. Longowal on February 21-22, 2024.

Nikhil Kumar, M.Sc. 2nd year student (PHY-2263014) published a paper on, “Structural, phase transitional & magnetic properties of Neodymium nitride under high pressure: a full potential study” in International Journal for Electro Computational World Knowledge Interface (IJECWKI), vol. 5, issue 1, Nov. 2023.

Raman-Charpak Fellowship-2023

We are happy to share that Kailash (Ph.D. Student in Physics Department) with registration no. PPH-2131 has received the prestigious Raman-Charpak Fellowship-2023 funded by Department of Science and Technology, Government of India, Service for Science and Technology (SST), French Embassy in India / Ambassade de France en Inde and Ministry of Foreign Affairs & International Development, Govt. of France.

The Fellowship was launched during the State visit of the President of France to India in February, 2013. This programme implemented by the Indo French Centre for Promotion of Advanced Research (IFCPAR/ CEFIPRA) aims at improving the doctoral skills of Indian and French students by providing them an opportunity to carry out part of their research work in a University / Research & Development Institute based in France or India respectively.

Congratulations to Kailash for this wonderful achievement.

Nikhil Kumar, M.Sc. 2nd year student (PHY-2263014) presented a paper (Oral Category) in the “International conference on Recent Advancement in Sustainable Nano-Science and Technology”, held at IIS (deemed to be University), Jaipur, from January 30-31, 2024.

Rekha Rani participated (fully sponsored by organizers) in SERB sponsored high-end workshop on “Theory and applications of In Silico Approach for Material Modelling” 5-11 February, 2024 at Central University Bathinda.

The Department of Physics of SLIET Longowal organized an educational tour to IISER Mohali on October 13, 2023. The tour was specifically arranged for M.Sc. (1st and 2nd year) students with the purpose of visiting advanced research labs and research centers in the institute.

Ms. Akanksha Bhardwaj, research scholar with regd. No. PPH-1803 in the department of Physics attended and presented her paper in the METANANO Summer School on Nanophotonics and Advanced Materials at QUINGDAO, CHINA, organized by University of Russia from 16-18 August, 2023. The visit was financed by DST, Govt. of India and the organizers of the school.

10th IAPT NSSP 2023

The following students of the M.Sc./22 (Physics) course have been selected to participate in 10th  IAPT NSSP 2023 to be held at the Department of Physics, Panjab University, Chandigarh from 27th October to 29th October, 2023.

1.      Mr. Paritosh Shukla, Regd. No. 2263003

2.      Mr. Ajay Kumar Rundla, Regd. No. 2263005

3.      Mr. Nikhil Kumar, Regd. No. 2263014

4.      Ms. Shalini Bhattacharjee, Regd. No. 2263016


Mr. Yogeesh N from M.Sc./21 batch, Regd. No. PGPHY-2150366, has been selected to pursue his Ph.D. Programme at Dept. of Physics, IIT Jodhpur.

“Ms. Shalini Bhattacharjee, M.Sc.-22 batch student with Regd. No.  2263012 has been selected in the flagship programme “Vigyan Vidushi (Physics) 2023” at TIFR, Bombay from June 12-July 02, 2023.  During the programme, she will be reimbursed travel costs up to 3-AC train fare from SLIET to TIFR Bombay and back and local transport costs by the organisers. She will also get accommodation (from 12:00 hrs on 11 June till 12:00 hrs on 2 July) in a spacious non-AC room with an attached toilet in the HBCSE hostel on sharing basis with another Vigyan Vidushi participant”.

Department of Physics is going to organize the 6th National Conference on “Advanced Materials and Radiation Physics (AMRP-2023)”  from May 18-19, 2023 through Hybrid Mode, and accepted conference papers will be published in IOP Journal of Physics: Conference Series. For details, visit


One week Faculty Development Program (FDP) on “ Characterization of Nano-Materials and Applications” (National Level) (Physical Mode) (22-26 May 2023) to be organized by; the Department of Physics, SLIET Longowal in collaboration with NITTTR Chandigarh at Sant Longowal Institute of Engg. & Technology, Longowal


List of GATE-qualified students as on 23.03.2023


Sl.No. Name of student Registration No.
1 Yogeesh N PGPHY-2150366
2 Harini S Rao PGPHY-2150360


Mr. Nikhil Kumar, M.Sc.-22 (Regd. No. PHY-2263014) student delivered an invited talk on, “ Motivation for research & exploration of world” in a one day seminar on “Career opportunities in Physics” organized by SD College Barnala on 13th March 2023.

Mr. Nikhil Kumar, M.Sc.-22 (Regd. No. PHY-2263014  ) has been selected in Summer Fellowship Programme-2023  a flagship programe of IAS, INSA and The national academy of Sciences o work with Prof. Ashok Kumar Verma, BARC Bombay during June-July 2023.

Ms. Shalini Bhattachary, M.Sc.-22 (Regd. No. PHY-2263012) has been selected to participate in a two-day pre-IPSC workshop on Planetary Sciences and Exploration: going beyond taking place on 20-21 March 2023 with all financial help from the organizers.

Departmental Research Scholar, Mr. Ankit Kumar attended TYC 6th Energy Materials workshop: Modelling Energy Interfaces held during Dec 14-16, 2022 at London, United Kingdom  and 14th Annual International Workshop on Advanced Materials  held during Feb 19-21, 2023 at Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates



Department of Physics organised 5th National Conference on Advanced Materials and Radiation Physics (AMRP-2020) (9-11 November, 2020)

leaflet AMRP-2020

The accepted  papers will be published in AIP Conference Proceedings after peer review process.

Department of Physics organised the expert talk of Prof. B.L. Ahuja “Emeritus-Scientist” (CSIR) and former Professor of Physics, Mohan Lal Sukhadia University’ Udaipur (Rajasthan) on 26th September 2022 (Monday)

Topic of Talk: “New trends in X-ray scattering and validation of density functional theory”